The prize is named after Bruno Touschek, who developed in 1960 the idea of the e+e- collider and supervised the construction of the world-wide first e+e- collider ADA in Frascati, Italy. The Bruno Touschek prize is awarded to a PhD student or to a trainee in accelerator physics or engineer in the educational phase of their professional career, for the quality of work and promise for the future.

The prize was awarded during the accelerator prize session (only live session) of IPAC'20:

Congratulations Ángel!


More information about Ángel's work on:

External injection into a laser-driven plasma accelerator with sub-femtosecond timing jitter
Ferrán Pousa, A.; Assmann, R.; Brinkmann, R.; Martínez de la Ossa, A.
8th International Particle Accelerator Conference (IPAC 2017)
Journal of Physics Conference Series 874, 012032 (2017)

Compact Multistage Plasma-Based Accelerator Design for Correlated Energy Spread Compensation
A. Ferran Pousa, A. Martinez de la Ossa, R. Brinkmann, and R. W. Assmann
Phys. Rev. Lett. 123, 054801 – Published 31 July 2019

2020 - 05 - 18

The European Physical Society – Accelerator Group prize committee at IPAC’20, chaired by Gianluigi Arduini (CERN) has awarded the 2020 Bruno Touschek Prize to Ángel Ferran Pousa, a PhD student from DESY and University Hamburg: “…for his contributions in the frame of the EuPRAXIA Project to the development of a novel concept for generating multi-GeV beams with low energy spread using plasma-based acceleration, providing a potential route towards ground-breaking applications such as compact short-wavelength free-electron lasers.” 

Ángel Ferran Pousa has made seminal contributions to the conceptual design of EuPRAXIA. As part of his PhD, he has developed new schemes of energy spread compensation and external injection in laser-driven plasma accelerators which would improve considerably the quality of the accelerated beams.

EuPRAXIA PhD Student wins Bruno Touschek prize at IPAC’20

Ángel Ferran Pousa