University of Manchester

The University of Manchester is a major centre for research as a member of the Russell Group of leading British research universities. In the first national assessment of higher education research since the university's founding, the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise, it was ranked third in terms of research power and sixth for grade point average quality among multi-faculty institutions. The School of Physics and Astronomy of the university is one of the largest and most active Schools in the UK, with more than 150 academic and research staff, including two Nobel Laureates.

The Manchester Accelerator Group is involved in many aspects of accelerator physics research and participates in numerous international collaborations. It specialised in beam dynamics, plasma accelerators, antimatter research, cavity design, collimator design, FFAG, and wakefield studies. The group is involved in many experiments at LHC, CLIC, ILC, AWAKE, ALPHA, EMMA, CONFORM, FLASH etc. The group is part of the Cockcroft Institute and has a close relationship with the Manchester Particle Physics, Photon Science Institute (PSI), Nuclear Physics Groups, and with the Dalton Nuclear Institute. In addition, it also collaborates with ASTeC on novel acceleration research using the accelerators (VELA and CLARA) in Daresbury Laboratory.

Contact: Guoxing Xia